Three new members elected to Hartford Selectboard

Published: 03-06-2024 4:05 PM

HARTFORD — At the polls on Tuesday, voters elected three fresh faces to the Selectboard.

Sue Buckholz and Brandon Smith earned two-year seats on the board. They beat out incumbent Rocket, as well as Aaron Warner for the posts. Buckholz earned 1,695 votes; Smith, 979; Rocket, 792; and Warner, 436. 

Ida Griesemer won a three-year seat on the Selectboard, with 1,154 votes to Patrick Francis Danaher’s 877.

Voters approved a municipal budget of $21.4 million, of which $3.2 million is to come from non-tax revenue, $2 million from unassigned fund balance and the balance from taxes. 

They narrowly rejected, 1,160 to 1,110, a charter amendment that would have added a new 1% local option sales tax and direct revenues to a capital reserve fund for the town. They also rejected an article that would have directed $225,000 to improvements at Lyman Point Park, 1,141 to 1,105.

In separate articles, voters approved directing $200,000 of local option tax revenue to purchase an ambulance, 1,803 to 474; and $30,000 to beautify the town’s villages, 1,245 to 1,004. They also supported a $1.3 million bond for improvements to the Quechee fire station, 1,314 to 909.

The School Board has rescinded its budget and delayed the vote to next month. 

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles