Rivendell voters elect School Board members

Published: 04-16-2024 6:03 PM

ORFORD — In addition to rejecting the proposed school budget by a floor vote on Saturday, residents in the four-town Rivendell Interstate School District elected school board members and officers. 

In Australian balloting, Orford’s Charles Newton defeated incumbent Vanessa DeSimone, 94-51, for a three-year term on the School Board. Rebekah Cadwell defeated Monica Austin, 24-6, to win a three-year term representing West Fairlee. 

The remaining board seats were unopposed. Clem Powers was reelected to represent Fairlee, and Nate Thames earned a second term to represent Vershire, both for three-year terms. 

Fairlee resident Mark Avery will serve as at-large representative for a one-year term. 

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Police seek assistance in locating missing Dartmouth student
City cites Claremont property owner over demolition of building
Editorial: Dartmouth lets protesters know where they stand
DHMC union organizers say they have enough signatures to force vote
New Canaan Elementary School principal hire backs out
A Life: Elaine Chase ‘was a very generous person’